Izmir travel

Izmir historically Smyrna, is Turkey's third most populous city and the country's largest port after Istanbul. It is located along the outlying waters of the Gulf of Izmir, by the Aegean Sea. It is the seat of Izmir Province. The city of Izmir is composed of nine metropolitan districts, each with its own distinct features and temperament. The total area of the nine districts is 855 km² and together these districts constitute the area of Izmir Metropolitan Municipality headed by the mayor of Izmir. The total population of this greater urban region in 2007 was 3,175,133.